Review Committee


The purpose of the Review Committee is to oversee the scholarship awards that are distributed by the Foundation.  They review submitted applications and make recommendations to the Executive Committee, based on the submissions, where to appropriate the scholarship funds.  They are committed to distributing awards in an unbiased manner based on the established application criteria, while also ensuring that the mission to spread advanced wound care knowledge globally is being achieved.


The Review Committee for the International Alliance of Wound Care Scholarship Foundation is comprised of experienced and certified wound care clinicians.  This diverse group of individuals includes nurses, therapists, and doctors who have shown a commitment and dedication to not only their own wound care practices but to educate others in this area of expertise.  The members of the IAWCSF Review Committee are passionate about wound care, and understand the worldwide need for advanced education, training, and certification in this area.

Julia Rodrick OTR/L, CLT-LANA, WCC  – Committee Chair – Julia is a Registered Occupational Therapist, working as an allied health professional for over 40 years. She is recognized as a Master Clinician, specializing in areas of oncology, lymphedema, orthopedics, and wound care, receiving her advanced training of Manual Lymph Drainage and Complete Decongestive Therapies (MLD/CDT) through the prestigious Foeldi Clinic and College in Hinterzarten, Germany and The National Alliance of Wound Care and Ostomy.  Her extensive experience as an international instructor, lecturer, and consultant for the management of lymphedema and wound care reflects her ongoing contributions to lymphedema research and mentorship to enhance the quality of care for those who suffer from lymphedema and related conditions. In addition to her published research and professional course manuscripts, Julia has served as a member of the Lymphology Assoc. of North America Board of Directors and continues as an active member of The Steering Committee for the American Lymphedema Framework Project and the International Lymphology Society.  She is a contributor to the education committee for the National Lymphedema Network and the NAWCO /WCC exam committee. In addition to her role as owner and director of Essential Therapy Education, LLC®; Julia also stays active, working as a senior staff therapist in central Illinois. 

Jill Weedman PTA, WCC, DWC, CSRS Committee Member – Jill is a Therapy Program Director with over 10 years operational experience. She specializes in wound care, diabetes care, and CVA patients. Jill is currently on the Board for Habitat for Humanity and has served for 2 years. She is also a mission team member and has served in Honduras in Central America for over 7 years. Jill is the newest member of the IAWCSF Review Committee and resides in Indiana.

Cathy Modlin BSN, RN, CWOCN, WCC, OMSCommittee Member – Cathy is a dedicated clinician with 33 years of nursing experience.  The past 26 years have been focused on the care of patients with wounds and ostomies.  Her clinical experience has included both inpatient (acute care setting) and outpatient (clinic setting).  She has been a certified wound and ostomy nurse for 26 years. She is a member of the WOCN Society and the Northern Illinois Affiliate.  Becoming involved with the National Alliance of Wound Care and Ostomy, she served on the Board as both president and vice president from 2003 to 2013. Cathy speaks nationally at wound care conferences covering the topics of wounds and ostomies. Cathy also served on the NAWCO certification committee writing the organizations’ exam items assisting to create an exam that was psychometrically correct for the multidisciplinary candidates. She took part in the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel (NPUAP) consensus conference on the subject of “Avoidable vs. Non-Avoidable Pressure ulcers” held in Baltimore in Feb 2010, serving as a member of the voting panel representing the NAWCO in the field of acute care wound care nursing. In her many years of nursing, her passion for taking care of those inflicted with wounds/ostomies has never waned.   

Michael Miller DO, FACOS, FAPWH, WCC, AOF, AWCCCommittee Chair – Dr. Miller is the CEO and Medical Director of Miller Care Group, a non-hospital affiliated, multi-specialty medical group in Indiana.  Dr. Miller is a Board-Certified General Surgeon who has been practicing Advanced wound care since 1993. He has provided wound care education on both domestic and international podiums, published numerous articles and editorials in peer-reviewed journals, authored numerous book chapters, and provides wound care education in multiple venues as well as on the editorial review panel of The Journal of Wound Care.  In 2010, he was honored by being named the Physician of the Year by the American Osteopathic Foundation.  He is an Assistant Professor at Marion University College of Osteopathic Medicine where he lectures and mentors medical students, Nurse Practitioners, and Physician Assistants.

Paula Gruccio, MSN, RN, CWCN – Committee Chair – Paula is an RN with 40 years of experience. She received her BSN from Stockton University and her MSN from Wilmington University. She is currently certified in Wound Care through the WOCNCB. Recent past certifications include Ostomy, and Continence; and Certified Professional: Patient Safety (CPPS), through the National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF), now part of the Institute of Healthcare Improvement (IHI). Her professional positions have been in Acute Care; Outpatient Wound Care (Case Manager); Case Management Specialist for a Healthcare/Insurance Company; Long Term Care Consultant in wound care; and Industry Positions:  Clinical Manager; and Clinical Consultant for Pressure Injury Prevention/Care, Support Surface Specialist; and Fall Prevention Specialist. She has had several publications and poster presentations, in addition to speaking to nursing and wound care professionals in various settings.